Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Internal commands  (Read 25684 times)

nicholashin

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • (Best?) VVVVVV Player level Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2013, 07:35:36 PM »
gotoroom() is also vital for emulating background scripts without the feature actually existing, by warping to the same room you are in. ;)
What's the point of emulating background scripts, just wondering?
Several things, actually:
* Dialog which doesn't hinder gameplay (think Portal style, or the various help texts at the beginning of VVVVVV, achievement texts in the secret lab). One of the simpler, yet very useful, uses
* If you have way too much free time - a random number generator
* Background-altering rooms (think The Final Level)
* A counter that ticks to something
* User interfaces use them in a sense (think Level Select Menu in my level)

And much more, only your imagination (and VVVVVV's 500 scripts limit) can stop you :P
I actually made a sample level of changing backgrounds yesterday. I guess this is what you means by background-altering rooms :D
But how to use dialog not hindering gameplay? Don't say() and reply() commands themselves stop gameplay? I thought those were just well-positioned background texts  :beg:

Faces3210

  • tOLP2 Tester
  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • I change this sometimes...
    • View Profile
    • My Level
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #21 on: July 27, 2013, 05:33:28 AM »
gotoroom() is also vital for emulating background scripts without the feature actually existing, by warping to the same room you are in. ;)
What's the point of emulating background scripts, just wondering?
Several things, actually:
* Dialog which doesn't hinder gameplay (think Portal style, or the various help texts at the beginning of VVVVVV, achievement texts in the secret lab). One of the simpler, yet very useful, uses
* If you have way too much free time - a random number generator
* Background-altering rooms (think The Final Level)
* A counter that ticks to something
* User interfaces use them in a sense (think Level Select Menu in my level)

And much more, only your imagination (and VVVVVV's 500 scripts limit) can stop you :P
* Removing the wraparound in rooms

FIQ

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
    • GitHub profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2013, 09:19:33 AM »
gotoroom() is also vital for emulating background scripts without the feature actually existing, by warping to the same room you are in. ;)
What's the point of emulating background scripts, just wondering?
Several things, actually:
* Dialog which doesn't hinder gameplay (think Portal style, or the various help texts at the beginning of VVVVVV, achievement texts in the secret lab). One of the simpler, yet very useful, uses
* If you have way too much free time - a random number generator
* Background-altering rooms (think The Final Level)
* A counter that ticks to something
* User interfaces use them in a sense (think Level Select Menu in my level)

And much more, only your imagination (and VVVVVV's 500 scripts limit) can stop you :P
I actually made a sample level of changing backgrounds yesterday. I guess this is what you means by background-altering rooms :D
But how to use dialog not hindering gameplay? Don't say() and reply() commands themselves stop gameplay? I thought those were just well-positioned background texts  :beg:
They do stop gameplay yes, unless backgroundtext is used before the "speak" command. This will not halt gameplay. By utilizing backgrounded scripts, you can make a timer to chose when these dialogs should disappear. Of course you don't *need* backgrounded scripts for this - but if you want them to disappear after a certain time instead of when moving forward a little, you do need background scripts.

IMG_4346.jpeg

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #23 on: August 2, 2013, 07:32:06 AM »
How does one use gotoposition? The coordinates are tripping me up  :victoria:

Dav999Topic starter

  • Administrator
  • Hyper Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #24 on: August 2, 2013, 08:33:09 AM »
How does one use gotoposition? The coordinates are tripping me up  :victoria:

gotoposition is mostly trial and error, but you can get the exact values by placing a checkpoint (or the starting point, temporarily) at the point you want to teleport to, and then play the level and save at that point. You can then open the save file (the .vvvvvv.vvv file in the Saves folder) of the level and look at the values for savex and savey. Those are the values you have to fill in. So if savex is 50 and savey is 112, you need to use gotoposition(50,112,0).

Woliken

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Metagross is easily my favourite pokemon.
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #25 on: August 2, 2013, 10:30:12 AM »
I use this thread as a reference guide for when I use the internal code. Mind posting the full list of gamestates, playefs and plays?

Probably Arvis

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • oh look i actually changed my avatar
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #26 on: August 2, 2013, 10:40:27 AM »
I use this thread as a reference guide for when I use the internal code. Mind posting the full list of gamestates, playefs and plays?
Gamestates

Dav999Topic starter

  • Administrator
  • Hyper Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #27 on: August 2, 2013, 10:42:54 AM »
I use this thread as a reference guide for when I use the internal code. Mind posting the full list of gamestates, playefs and plays?

Playefs and plays can be found in reply #3:
Quote from: FIQ
Internal playlist
0 - Path Complete
1 - Pushing Onwards
2 - Positive Force
3 - Potential For Anything
4 - Passion For Exploring
5 - Pause
6 - Presenting VVVVVV
7 - Plenary
8 - Predestined Fate
9 - ecroF evitisoP
10 - Popular Potpurri
11 - Pipe Dream
12 - Pressure Cooker
13 - Paced Energy
14 - Piercing The Sky
Quote from: FIQ
The effect list
Code: [Select]
0 - Flip to ceiling
1 - Flip back to floor
2 - Cry
3 - Trinket collected
4 - Coin collected
5 - Checkpoint touched
6 - Quicker quicksand block touched
7 - Normal quicksand block touched
8 - Gravity line touched
9 - Flash
10 - Warp
11 - Viridian squeak
12 - Verdigris squeak
13 - Victoria squeak
14 - Vitellary squeak
15 - Violet squeak
16 - Vermilion squeak
17 - Terminal touched
18 - Teleporter touched
19 - Alarm
20 - Terminal squeak
21 - Time trial countdown "3", "2", "1"
22 - Time trial countdown "Go!"
23 - VVVVVV Man breaking walls
24 - Crewmates (de)combining into VVVVVV Man
25 - New record in Super Gravitron
26 - New trophy in Super Gravitron
27 - Rescued crewmate (in custom levels)

28+ segfaults

Arvis ninja'd me about the gamestates.

TheJonyMyster

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Points: 912
    • View Profile
    • My tumblr
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #28 on: August 2, 2013, 10:51:11 AM »
Well it should all be in the first post to have a monopoly on all scripting I mean so people can just look here.
Maybe this should be stickyd.

allison

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Hyper Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1208
  • I make video games sometimes
    • View Profile
    • Alek Fleischer
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #29 on: August 2, 2013, 04:52:40 PM »
Well it should all be in the first post to have a monopoly on all scripting I mean so people can just look here.

Yeah, it'll be super annoying to have to comb through the thread

IMG_4346.jpeg

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2013, 07:47:33 AM »
Createentity is acting up. Gravitron squares and enemies are refusing to show up. Using 2.1.  :victoria:
EDIT:Fixed!
« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 12:14:13 PM by Lord Ghetsis »

nicholashin

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • (Best?) VVVVVV Player level Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #31 on: September 13, 2013, 06:18:13 AM »
How does a timer with gotoroom() work? I thought it was just use do() to loop, but it seems to make the time for executing each command extremely short. (No longer 30 times is about 1 s.) And the script will repeat again and again due to gotoroom() and I can't use a terminal for it too....
I even thought of use of flags or loadscript(stop), but they don't work....

nicholashin

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • (Best?) VVVVVV Player level Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #32 on: September 17, 2013, 02:07:10 AM »
How does a timer with gotoroom() work? I thought it was just use do() to loop, but it seems to make the time for executing each command extremely short. (No longer 30 times is about 1 s.) And the script will repeat again and again due to gotoroom() and I can't use a terminal for it too....
I even thought of use of flags or loadscript(stop), but they don't work....
BUMP

IMG_4346.jpeg

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #33 on: September 18, 2013, 04:18:34 AM »
How does a timer with gotoroom() work? I thought it was just use do() to loop, but it seems to make the time for executing each command extremely short. (No longer 30 times is about 1 s.) And the script will repeat again and again due to gotoroom() and I can't use a terminal for it too....
I even thought of use of flags or loadscript(stop), but they don't work....
BUMP
Don't think you can...ask Dav or someone.

FIQ

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
    • GitHub profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #34 on: September 27, 2013, 04:35:32 PM »
I made an example in that old thread in the distractionware forums. Let me copy/paste it here, sec...

...

ffffffff...

Dav999Topic starter

  • Administrator
  • Hyper Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #35 on: September 27, 2013, 10:11:03 PM »
I have a 'print' of that entire topic saved to my computer, will upload it in a few hours...

EDIT: http://tolp2.tk/misc/Internal%20commands.html
« Last Edit: September 28, 2013, 12:53:29 AM by Dav999 »

nicholashin

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • (Best?) VVVVVV Player level Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #36 on: September 28, 2013, 08:51:38 AM »
I made an example in that old thread in the distractionware forums. Let me copy/paste it here, sec...

...

ffffffff...
I have a 'print' of that entire topic saved to my computer, will upload it in a few hours...

EDIT: http://tolp2.tk/misc/Internal%20commands.html
WOW Thanks for your help, but I assume FIQ made it in form of a level?

FIQ

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
    • GitHub profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #37 on: September 28, 2013, 09:13:48 AM »
I have a 'print' of that entire topic saved to my computer, will upload it in a few hours...

EDIT: http://tolp2.tk/misc/Internal%20commands.html
That print is too old for my script I think, as I posted it pretty much right before the forums closed.

nicholashin

  • tOLP Contributor
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • (Best?) VVVVVV Player level Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #38 on: September 30, 2013, 09:45:45 PM »
I have a 'print' of that entire topic saved to my computer, will upload it in a few hours...

EDIT: http://tolp2.tk/misc/Internal%20commands.html
That print is too old for my script I think, as I posted it pretty much right before the forums closed.
Oh I see......I guess I just have to wait for Terry to miraculously realise that better security question should be used and reopen the forums.

Dav999Topic starter

  • Administrator
  • Hyper Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1590
    • View Profile
Re: Internal commands
« Reply #39 on: September 30, 2013, 11:08:13 PM »
Oh I see......I guess I just have to wait for Terry to miraculously realise that better security question should be used and reopen the forums.

It may reopen any moment now, but I'm not sure because I don't know when the billing month ends...
« Last Edit: September 30, 2013, 11:09:59 PM by Dav999 »